The Joys of Music

So okay, I know I’m a little bit behind everyone, but I’ve just discovered the joys of iTunes.  It actually started when accursed Microsoft Media Player wouldn’t work, so I opened iTunes and migrated all my music across.  Then of course, I HAD to find all the corresponding artwork for the songs, which lead me to the iTunes store (more on that later).  Then I started playing some tracks and OMG I completely forgot how awesome music is!  And how much of it I actually have… and how much I missed it.  Now, I always listen to CDs in the car, but it’s always the new stuff and never the oldies that have been gathering dust on my shelf.  It’s been a long time since I just sat there, playing music and singing along (I’m sure my neighbours can agree on that, poor things).

So then I got to thinking – “I wonder if the iTunes store has those favourite long-lost tracks I’ve still got on my old cassettes but never play because I don’t have a tape deck and anyway, they’ve probably disintegrated by now?”  So I clicked on the store and lo and behold, Paradise Unbound!!!   I NEVER knew you could buy just one song instead of the whole album that, let’s face it, you hardly ever listen to anyway (unless it’s Sister Hazel or Rascal Flatts 😀 )  So I didn’t stroll, I RAN down memory lane and within 20 minutes I’d carted Midnight Blue (Lou Gramm), Breakthru (Queen), You Win Again (Bee Gees , Turn Me Loose (Loverboy) and the most awesome song ever made, Throw Your Arms Around Me (Hunters & Collectors).

611fqfbi7zl_sl500_aa240_So after my excitement abated somewhat, I went back to sorting my album artwork… as if two-plus stories weren’t already screaming at me to be written. 😉  And that’s when I started to actually listen to my music library, stuff like Goodbye Yellow Brick Road – Elton John’s most brilliant album ever (just a millimeter in front of Blue Moves).  I mean, the opening of Funeral For a Friend at full crank just gives me chills  (and hearing it live is even more chill-worthy!) Hard to believe it was recorded in 1973 and it’d still be in my Top Albums Of All Time.

Then there’s Alone and Stranded by Heart, 80s power ballads which have formed the music soundtrack to my latest work-in-progress.   Other significant mentions are Foreigner, Jimmy Barnes and Texas, all best listened to at full volume.  And preferably singing at the top of your voice and prancing around the room, too 😀

The best part about my crazy music day?  I had a fabbo idea for one of my backburner stories (stories that are still shaping themselves in my head, that aren’t contracted or have any significant point, plot or ending).  So all that singing and dancing didn’t come to naught (oh, really?  I can hear my neighbours replying drolly. Thank God for that).

So after some deep thought after going off on a tangent (as you do), I’ve come up with my Top Albums of All Time.  In random order they are:

  • nickelbackAll The Right Reasons by Nickelback – when you just want angry alpha male music, with a dose of political incorrectness.  I love the funny Rockstar film clip!
  • Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Blue Moves by Elton John – both masterpieces of melody that are heavy on the long instrumental introduction… something you don’t hear much of these days.  My dad played these over and over when I was young, and I still love them to this day.
  • fortressFortress, Absolutely, Lift, Bam! and Chasing Daylight by Sister Hazel – the best band in the whole world.  Seriously.  These guys have such a beautiful harmony, a rocking great style and the ability to tell amazing stories through their songs.  Check out the film clip to the awesome Champagne High on YouTube.
  • Sign Of The Times by Prince – lots of live tracks, lots of funky get-up-and-dance music
  • Wide Open Spaces by The Dixie Chicks – I bought this album on the strength of their live performance during a Grammys telecast.  So glad I did because it’s by far the best they’ve ever done!
  • tutte-storieTutte Storie by Eros Ramazzotti – no, it’s not in English but this Italian superstar rock god is sensual and brilliant and can sing to me anytime 😉
  • Twice the Speed of Life by Sugarland – rocking, country pop, heaps of fun
  • Daughtry by Daughtry – kinda like Nickelback but more easy on the ear.  But still hard rocking and angry!
  • stingDream of the Blue Turtles by Sting – because it’s the best he ever did sans The Police.  And because Moon Over Bourbon Street was inspired by Anne Rice’s The Vampire Lestat which encouraged me to read it.
  • Seven Flights Up by Penny Flanagan – not technically an album (it’s an EP) but these seven accoustic songs by the folksy local Aussie girl are still fab.  Includes the best version ever of Prince’s When You Where Mine (once covered by Cyndi Lauper).
  • arcadiaSo Red The Rose by Arcadia – with three of the Duran Durans you can’t go wrong.  Still awesome twenty years on. You can check out their Election Day and The Promise videos on YouTube (plus others).
  • Star Wars Soundtrack – my dad bought this as a double cassette back in the late 70s for my brother (we were both Star Wars mad).  Now with the beauty of technology, I can listen to one of the most recognisable theme tunes in the world over and over on CD.
  • Blah Blah Blah by Iggy Pop – his big commercially successful album, which includes the mega-hit Real Wild Child.  This and David Bowie’s Let’s Dance were on permanent repeat in the late 80s.
  • Still Feels Good, Melt, Feels Like Today, and Me and My Gang by Rascal Flatts –  Every song is a gorgeous example of beautiful lyrics and great vocals.  You can check out their music and film clips on YouTube here, and exclusive songs and interview at Soundcheck below on YouTube or here.

    So there you have it.  A sneak peak into my diverse music tastes.  I’m always on the lookout for new stuff, so let me know if you’ve got a brilliant album, artist or song I should take a listen to!

    3 comments on “The Joys of Music

    1. Pingback: Tom’s Top 5′s: Albums of 2004 | Revolutions Per Minute

    2. When Elton John played in Kingston, he opened with Funeral for a friend – I was really impressed with the local radio station when the DJ played the full 12 minute Yellow brick road opener as a tribute the next day!

    3. Stephen, this is impressive. I was lucky enough to see him in concert in Sydney and his opener was exactly the same – it gave me goosebumps hearing it 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    