Well, it came… and went

P6050009Down here in the Southern Hemisphere, it was my birthday. My 40th, to be precise. Now, when you get on in years, there’s not a lot you can provide for the never-gets-old question, “what do ya want for ya birthday?” I had suggested a pair of slippers (check), but above that, I was stumped. So I was VERY thrilled to unwrap a gorgeous yellow leather handbag, courtesy of my parents and their recent trip to Canada.

Now before you go, “yellow??!!” it’s actually kinda nice. Sunny yellow, actually. It’s got heaps of pockets and zips and better still, doesn’t have a flap-over (which I can’t stand – just like to dig right on in there). Last trip o/s my mum bought me a sky-blue suede bag with rhinestones and brown leather. It’s gorgeous. Apparently my dad said something like, “a bag? Doesn’t she already have one?” To which my mum replied, ” It’s Paula.” And  really, that says it all.

P6050010I also got a beautiful commemorative silver dollar coin, engraved with my birthdate and message – the photo here doesn’t really do it justice, believe me.

And so the day went. Suddenly, with tantrums, tears and dramas associated with a Gemini (me) and a hyperactive 8yo (son) who’s been quarantined from school for the last week on account of grandparents returning from Canada, swine flu outbreak country. Convincing an 8yo he still has to do school work when you’re at home with a computer and other assorted distractions… arghh!!!!

Anyway, peace has been restored. It’s night, he’s asleep and my brother and nephew/nieces are visiting tomorrow. Lamb roast, here we come!

8 comments on “Well, it came… and went

  1. Paula,

    I know I said it before, but Happy Birthday!

    We have a lot of commemorative coins in our family (my kids get one on every birthday), so I think that’s a wonderful gift. And I love the handbag – I can imagine you’ll show it off at the conference (I got one for Mother’s Day, so plan on doing this big time! Lol).

    🙂 Mon

  2. Hey Monique! The only problem with the conference is *which* bag to show off?? And you should see my donation for our silent auction… suffice to say there’s a bag in there 😉

  3. I think a bag for each day wouldn’t be too excessive. You have to match your shoes/ensemble, after all! I’ll certainly be able to spot you a mile away 🙂

    And the silent auction sounds fantastic. Guess I’ll have to save my pennies, eh?!

  4. Belated birthday greetings, Paula!

    Love the yellow bag! It would look great with any of
    several of my outfits, especially the all black pants suit!!

    Pat Cochran

  5. Hi Pat! 😀

    The yellow in the photo looks a bit washed out – the real color is more like a bright sunburst. Definitely a good color to go with black 😉

Leave a Reply

