Goals for 2012

Reading: A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
Watching: Gremlins 2
Listening to: Domino by Jessie J

So here we are again – goal time!  Let’s check to see what I achieved in 2011, shall we?

  • I’ll write and submit two books aimed at Desire by the end of the year – check! 😀
  • I’ll finish rom com short story/novella by June – nup 😦
  • I’ll finish first draft of erotic space opera and pitch it at RWA’s August conference 😦
  • I will post to my blog at least every two weeks 😦
  • I’ll design and print postcards for my new book coming out in March/April – 😀
  • I’ll work on new promo products for ARRC in March, RWAC in August – 😀
  • I’ll revamp my website – 😀
  • read up/find out more about effective marketing strategies – half a 😦
  • I’ll make a dent in all those unread how-to books on my shelves! – 😀
  • I’ll read at least two new-to-me authors – 😀
  • I’ll read at least one unread how-to – I started five… so 😀 ?
  • I will judge at least one RWAust contest – 😦 (way too busy!)
  • I will read for RWAmerica’s RITA contest – 😀
  • I’ll be more proactive with offering to read my critique group’s work – half a 😀
  • I’ll refine and finish my “Pain Free Plotting” workshop in preparation for speaking engagements – big :grin:!
  • I’ll approach local schools. libraries and community centres to offer writing/educational workshops – another big 😀

So, about half, I’d say.  Interesting to note that most of my self-promotional efforts that required a small time frame were the ones that got done.  (hmm… fickle Gemini brain).

And now on to this year’s goals.  To recap, in 2009 I wrote a post about what makes a goal a goal, specifically a SMART goal.  Make it Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Time-bound.

Writing/Sales/Business

  • Finish my next Desire by February
  • Finish my rom com short story/novella by February
  • Finish first draft of erotic space opera and pitch it at RWA’s August conference
  • Polish my partial rom sus and submit it
  • finalise my web design pricing schedule
  • draft up a business plan

Promotion

  • Organise my writing group’s blog and post every nine weeks
  • Finalise a Desire group blog and draft up a posting schedule
  • Design and print promo material for my October/November release
  • Work on  new promo products for RWAC in August
  • Revamp my website
  • Write three newsletters

Craft Education (developing/strengthening skills)

  • research marketing strategies
  • finish more of those unread how-to books on my shelves!
  • research indie publishing opportunities

Health/Relaxation/Inner Self

  • Read at least two new-to-me authors
  • Go to the gym at least 5 times a week
  • Check out the local health spas in my area (a girl can dream!)

Outreach (helping others)

  • Write at least two articles for my website
  • Critique writing group’s short stories
  • Read for RWAmerica’s RITA contest

Looks like 2012 will be big for focusing on honing and developing my business skills.  Oh, and if you want help on goal setting and time management, my lovely friend Kitty Bucholtz has a cool online workshop happening in January/February.  I’m seriously tempted to sign up!

So what are your goals for the upcoming year?  Anything you didn’t achieve in 2011 that you are DEFINITELY going to aim for in ’12?  Post a comment, let me know your plans and you could win a cool notepad so you can write down all those goals!

19 comments on “Goals for 2012

  1. Wow, Paula. You sure make some specific goals and LOTS of them. Hmmm, think I need to re-jig mine 🙂 I guess I need to make something more detailed than my usual Get Published. So I’m going with:
    * finish current WIP by end Jan and submit
    * finish 2nd WIP by June and submit
    * Write book 3 and finish by December and submit
    * enter all RWAus comps
    * write every day
    * keep a notebook (instead of scraps of paper in a box)
    * write at least two articles for Melbourne Romance Writers’ Guild’s new Blog
    * read 6 craft books
    * pick one aspect of craft and concentrate on it for a month
    * go for a long walk every day (something I’m bad at slotting in).
    OK, that’s all for me. Happy New Year, Paula! Hope all your dreams and goals come true.

  2. You are a legend Paula! I’m using your headings to do a serious plan for the coming year. You know, as I typed plan it came out first as pain. Tells you where my head is at.

  3. I’m exhausted just reading that list. I have only two things on my list. increase fitness (ie decrease weight) and increase vocab (I have divided my dictionary by 366 days so I will be reading 3 pages a day!!!!!!!)

  4. Hey Lou! I always try to be specific otherwise I get sidetracked 🙂 YOu’ve got some really good ones there – have you got long to go on your WIP? I just realised I have two weeks to finish mine, and that means 10 pages in 14 days. 😯

  5. Eleni, hope you plan to get a few mss done 😉

    Keziah – Freudian slip 😮

    Lacey – why, thank you! Actually it’s a bit of a rehash from an old one – it’ll be changed in the next few weeks when I upload my new website design 😉

  6. Jen – two perfectly good goals! Can you define ‘get fitter’ even further? Like – “walk x kms” or “spend 1 hour a day exercising” ? That may motivate you even further.

  7. I’m still working on mine….so far…
    To have chocolate at once a week.
    To finish my Harlequin Intrigue and submit by June 2012
    To work out more goals by Thursday 5 January 2012 (Going to be hanging out in the Mall cause it has air con and it is going to be hot till then lol)
    Start a new diary rather than continue to use the Financial Year Diary. New year, new diary.
    Start my new job on 9 January 2012

  8. Good on you Paula

    I am hopeless at setting goals but I am going on a cruise in June and I really want to loose some weight and feel a bit healthier before then and that is what I am aiming for a little bit at a time

    Have a great New Year Paula I look forward to more of your books to read

    Have Fun
    Helen

  9. Thanks for dropping by, Helen! Good luck with losing weight (and good luck on that cruise… never again for me! Was too sick.)

  10. Well, Lou, I could be your own private butt-kicker if you’ll be mine – need to do 10p a day for 14 days so I can finish the damn thing!

  11. Wow, what a busy year you had – you’ve achieved plenty, Paula! And your “Pain Free Plotting” workshop was sensational! Thanks for coming down to Melbs and presenting it to the MRWG 🙂

    Good luck to everyone with their goals for 2012.

    (Gia, congrats on the new job! I must have missed the FB announcement – haven’t been on much. )
    Hope you all have a happy and healthy 2012.

  12. Pingback: Goals damn goals | Keziah Hill

  13. @Gia, I love shiny new diaries – nice and clean. Good luck with the new job!
    @Samantha – you’re welcome!
    @Serena – anytime, my sweet :-*)

  14. So the winner of my blog post – a cute notepad for all those wonderful scribblings – is GIA MURPHY! Yay! Email me with your address and I’ll get it off to you asap.

    thanks for sharing all your goals, ladies! Good luck with them 😀

Leave a Reply

