exciting stuff for February

Reading: Lucky Stiff by Deborah Coonts
Listening to: In My Arms by Plumb
Watching: Star Wars (the original trilogy!!!)

So it’s been a while, right?  How are you all?  I’ve just crawled out of the deadline cave (book # 7 is off into cyberspace) so it’s time to surface and let you guys know what I’ve been doing.

Whenever I finish a book, I always end up learning something, be it a writing process, a better way of plotting and/or organizing my time more efficiently, or just a different way of writing.  For this book, I learned:

  • I can write through the Christmas holiday period (not that I wanted to, but I did)
  • Writing at night, in bed, when everyone is asleep and can’t interrupt with dumb questions, dinner choices or “can I have a lolly?” is FAB
  • A looming deadline will always make me finish the book, even through the horror that is the public library (think screaming kids, curious onlookers and noisy browsers and you’re nearly there)
  • I can write 10,000 words in a week (not that I wanted to, but I did)
  • I will not wither away and die if I don’t watch the latest episodes of Grey’s Anatomy, CSI, Private Practice or House

I also learned a very interesting writing technique — getting my characters from mistrust to trust.  See, in this last book my hero and heroine are two complete strangers and have an intense distrust of each other at the start of the story.  So how to go about showing that gradual change to total trust (then, obviously, love) by the end?  It’s something I’d struggled with so I wrote an article about it because that’s how I roll 🙂  I’ll post it as soon as I finish.

If you don’t follow me on Twitter or like me on Facebook (and you should because I talk A LOT so you might miss something important), Promoted to Wife? (aka Zac and Emily’s story) has been nominated for Favourite Short Category Romance of 2011 in the Australian Romance Readers Association’s awards!  Yay! (insert happy Snoopy dancing here – oh, hang on….>>>>>)  Thank you everyone who voted.  So very thrilled to be up there with some of my most favourite people 🙂  Oh, and ARRA also asked me to be their guest speaker on the night 😎  It’s  11th February in Sydney if you want to come along for a fab time – wear lots of bling!

Another event this month is my talk/workshop at Burwood Library, NSW on the 18th February (12.30-1.30pm).  I’ll be talking about the nuts and bolts of writing romantic fiction, plus there’ll be some giveaways.  This is a free event but bookings are preferred.  Call the library on (02)  9911 9999 or email them.

In other exciting news, Bed of Lies is on the shelves this month (March for Australia) – gorgeous cover, right?  Make sure you rush out and buy it.  😀  Here’s the blurb:

Her Darkest Secret… Revealed
Banker Luke De Rossi must sell the Australian beach house he inherited from his mobster uncle, fast. But then he runs up against Beth Jones. Is she the rightful tenant? A reporter out for a scoop? His uncle’s lover? Luke wants answers – almost as much as he wants Beth.

The last thing Beth needs is this hunky magnet for media attention breathing down her neck. She has a lot to hide. And falling hard for Luke as he gets closer – and tries to evict her! – isn’t helping things. Separately, they have each made their bed. Now they’ll lie in it… together.
3 comments on “exciting stuff for February

  1. Yay – congrats on bedding down #7!

    Fascinating post as always, so much to comment upon.
    1. I have everything crossed for you for the ARRA – and am sooo sad I’ll miss your talk. Just make sure you leave time for other people to say something – and the actual awards etc. ARRA probably has some kind of time limit on the night… Like, having guests still sitting there in their finery at brekkie time, probably isn’t what they’re aiming for… 😉 Seriously – you’ll be fabulous!

    2. Can’t wait for that article! Is it up yet? Is it up yet? Is t? Is it?

    3. Mobsters! Beach Houses? I’m there. Sounds like a fabulous story,as usual, P. Heading out tomoz to get me my copy.

    Great post! Taa!

Leave a Reply

