Fan Girl Friday – 90s rom-coms with Carla Caruso

It’s a pleasure to be writing on Paula Roe’s gorgeous blog – and here I’m going to confess my fandom of nineties rom-coms!

It doesn’t matter how much CGI and whiz-bang technology they have these days, nothing beats the feel-good, warm, fuzzy nature of a nineties rom-com, I reckon. Here are just a few of the retro flicks I adore and the key messages I’ve taken away concerning matters of the heart…

Sleepless in Seattle 1Sleepless in Seattle 2SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE – Aww! This ’93 flick, starring Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, had me at “hello” (which reminds me of another great nineties flick, Jerry Maguire, but I digress…) The focus of this film is on a recently-widowed man’s son calling a radio talk show in an attempt to find his dad a partner. One of the female listeners (with tissues at the ready) is Meg Ryan’s character. She finds she can’t get the lovelorn guy out of her mind, even though she’s engaged… This one’s a good lesson in not settling for second best or ignoring those niggly doubts in a relationship. Hey, Mr Absolutely-Perfect-For-You could be just a phone call away!

WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING – Another film with a title alluding to catching zeds, or the lack thereof… I’m sensing a theme here! Anyway, this ’95 flick surrounds a ticket-collecting romantic (Sandra Bullock), who pretends to be engaged to an unconscious man, but can’t fool his (not bad-looking) bro (Bill Pullman). The upshot? Building a web of lies about your life to impress others will only get you in trouble when you should really let your true self shine through.

THE OBJECT OF MY AFFECTION – This ’98 movie centres on a preggers social worker (Jennifer Aniston), who develops romantic feelings for her gay best friend (Paul Rudd) and decides to raise her child with him instead of her domineering boyfriend. The moral of the story? Gay pals are fantastic for shoe-shopping with… not so much for falling in love with.

Only YouONLY YOU – A teacher (Marisa Tomei) believes she’s destined to spend her life with a bloke named ‘Damon Bradley’ after his name’s spelt out on a Ouija board. Days before she’s to marry a podiatrist she may not love, she receives a call from a mate of her fiancé named…Damon Bradley (Robert Downey Jr.)She decides to spend a long weekend pursuing her dream man, who’s holidaying in Venice. The conclusion? Fate works in mysterious ways. She falls in love with Damon, then discovers that he actually lied and that’s not his real name – but she’s still head over heels with him regardless. So much for fate!

CluelessCLUELESS – In this ’95 flick, a popular high school student spends her days playing match-maker, helping her gal pals with fashion choices and looking for a man. The film provides a good lesson in being careful in case you fall for your ex-stepbrother… Actually, on second thoughts, it might be better described as: love can be found in unexpected places and sometimes that’s right under your nose.
So… what’s your fave nineties rom-com, and what did you learn from it?

Second Chance by Carla CarusoCarla Caruso is the author of Second Chance, featuring a feisty heroine, who time-travels back to the summer of 1998 and hopes to reunite with a past love. YOu can get it from Destiny here.

10 comments on “Fan Girl Friday – 90s rom-coms with Carla Caruso

  1. Darn it – I lost my post 😦

    I too like 90s rom-coms but my fav is When Harry Met Sally which is late 80s – is that close enough? 🙂

    I often find with rom coms the H&H have to let go of preconceptions to be able to fall in love and also accept love.

    BTW – Second Chance sounds like a fun read 🙂

  2. You’re welcome, Carla! (Up in Brissie at ARRC so I’ll duck back when I can 😉 )

    Okay, I LOVE LOVE LOVE 90s rom coms!!! Such a brilliant time to be making movies, and Only You has to cement Robert Downey Junior as a sexy romantic lead for me. (also Billy Zane appears, which is an added bonus 🙂 ). Also loved Brendan Fraser in Blast From the Past, and I ADORE The Wedding Singer – that one has to be my all-time favourite!! (Julia Goolia… ::sobs with laughter::)

  3. I love the older style rom coms, they just don’t seem to make them like they used to! Sleepless in Seattle is one of my all time faves, and Only You. Also loved Blast from the Past, and Serendipity (though I think it was closer to the 2000’s). Now I feel the need for a chick flick night!

  4. Hi Carla and Paula,
    While you were Sleeping is on of my all time favourites. Serendipity is another good one. Second Chance sounds like a lot of fun Carla…yet another to add to my TBR pile.

  5. Hi Carla and Paula. Wow, love this topic. I’ve got my hand up for While You Were Sleeping AND The Wedding Singer. Makes me want to watch them all over again.

Leave a Reply

