Fan Girl Friday – Traveling with Maisey Yates

Thanks Paula, for having me here to fangirl. It’s hard for me to pick just one thing to fangirl about, really because I’m sort of a geek by nature. That means, when I love something I LOVE it. (I write a lot of heroines like this too. Because I choose to believe it’s charming.)

LOTRLord of the Rings? Love it. Wore an elven cloak to the movies. Romance novels? Well, I fell so hard for those I had to start writing them so I could be immersed in all of it.

But what am I really a fangirl about? Traveling. This is kind of a new obsession of mine that’s come along with my romance career. I’m able to go to conferences all over the place for work (write off! Woohoo!) and that means…well, a lot of things.

First off, I like organizing my packing. I like going through my clothes and deciding what to bring. I love organizing what I’ll wear to what…

Then there’s the restaurant possibilities! This is where I reveal that I’m a total nerd. I love to scope out the restaurants at the places I’ll be. I like to get a good look at the menus in advance. You know, so I can pick what I’m going to order.

Hey, shush, choosing what you’re going to order at a restaurant is a big deal! And since I’m from a small town where fast food places out number any sort of good eating, it means I have to be prepared to take in the glory and wonder of the selection in the various cities I get to go to.

google earthOh yeah, and I Google Earth things. Because I like to scout out the new place I’m visiting! I’m getting to be such a travel fangirl that I’m even harassing my husband over his next trip. He’s going to the UK in May, and neither of us have ever been before.

So what am I doing? Googling pubs and mapping walking routes between must-see sights for him. I’m lucky he hasn’t disowned me.

I personally am doing a lot of traveling this year! And every trip is to a destination I’ve never been to before. In May I’ll be in Kansas City for the Romantic Times Convention, in June I’ll be in Cincinnati for Lori Foster’s Reader Author Get Together and in July I’ll be in Atlanta for the Romance Writers of American Convention.

But my biggest trip is in August and it’s a childhood dream come true (really!). In August I’m going to the Romance Writers of Australia Convention (and giving a workshop!). It will be my first trip away from my continent (I have been out of the country, but just to Mexico) and I’m really excited.

Except one thing. Yeah, I’m a travel lover who hates to fly. But no matter! I’ll withstand it.

And yes, I’ve already googled restaurants.

What’s your favorite part about traveling?

 heir to a desert legacyUSA Today Bestselling author Maisey Yates lives in rural Oregon with her three children and her husband, whose chiseled jaw and arresting features continue to make her swoon. She feels the epic trek she takes several times a day from her office to her coffee maker is a true example of her pioneer spirit.  In 2009, at the age of twenty-three Maisey sold her first book. Since then it’s been a whirlwind of sexy alpha males and happily ever afters, and she wouldn’t have it any other way. Maisey divides her writing time between dark, passionate category romances  set just about everywhere on earth and light sexy contemporary romances set practically in her back yard. She believes that she clearly has the best job in the world. You can find her on the web, Twitter and Facebook.

6 comments on “Fan Girl Friday – Traveling with Maisey Yates

  1. Oh, I’m hearing you on the flying, Maisey. But Australian have to fly forever to get anywhere so we get used to it! Looking forward to meeting you in August!

  2. Hey Maisey and thanks for dropping by (no idea what time it is in your part of the world, so not sure whether to apologise also 🙂

    Best part of traveling for me would be making the packing list for every single day I’m away. Weird, yeah, but after a disastrous UK trip when I was 18 (took everything but the kitchen sink, including a 50s style makeup case!) I tend to travel with only what I need and maybe one more option.

    Looking forward to Freo!!!

  3. Ha! I overpack. I know I do. But these conference trips we’re so pampered! Nice hotel and locations so bringing too many clothes isn’t a bad thing!

    Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

