Fan Girl Friday – Cats, Dragons and Gargoyles…Oh My! by Kylie Griffin

KG (low res)Paula, thanks for inviting me here to participate in Fangirl Friday. What a wonderful idea for a series and wow, there are some great interests and, umm, dare I say it…obsessions…among the other posts – roses, music, favourite movies, holiday places, play lists, travelling, Joss Whedon…

I should feel quite at home! LOL

If you know me at all I’m just a tad obsessed with cats, but I’m not going to inflict you with numerous shots of my moggies or LOL Cats, no, I’m going to share my other love – garden ornaments.

Some people love gnomes (not me though, I can’t understand why someone would fill a garden with the Seven Dwarves), some go for animals (turtles, birds, lizards, ducks – I’m sure Dr.Dolittle would be jealous), others prefer the classic nudes (they just remind me of school excursions to art museums). Me? I like the paranormal (no surprise there given it’s the genre I love to write) – mythical creatures, fairies, castles, the weird and wonderful.

Screech the gargoyleBoo the GargoyleTake Boo and Screech, for example. They’re my gargoyles. I found them at a lovely nursery called Pot-a-Way and could immediately imagine them sitting on the skillion roof of my front veranda chasing away evil spirits. I seat-belted them into the back seat of my car and drove them 150kms to their new home.

I did ask my local SES unit if they wanted an exercise night at my place to train using ropes and pulleys and the safety roof kit to put them up there, but unfortunately we never got around to it. So I put one on guard near my front door and the other looking through the kitchen window from near my carport. I doubt they’ll ever be stolen as they each weigh 60kgs!

ShimmerscaleKeeping Boo company in the carport garden is Shimmerscale, a dragon I found at a fantastic nursery in Guyra, NSW. When he first appeared in my garden, my cat, Splat didn’t quite know what to make of him. She stalked, stared at him and stayed well clear of him for a good week. Now though they’re the best of friends and she loves to rub up against his head. I also have another half dozen dragons in the garden (they’re another obsession of mine but that’s a whole ‘nother post!!!)

Fairy Solar LightThe fairy is an all-weather sensor light and she came from a local market. Her crystal ball lights up with a myriad of colours as she sits on the corner of my veranda, an ethereal guide for those who come to my house at night.

3 cats birdbathThe three amigos (the cats stacked on top of each other holding a birdbath) was an impulse buy. As soon as I saw them, the evil looking expressions on their faces as they plotted to capture the birds that used the birdbath, really tickled my funny bone.

CastleIn amongst my bulbs is the castle. It reminds me so much of the fairytale, Sleeping Beauty. I can just imagine how after so many years all the plants and bushes would have grown up around her palace, and that it would look something like this.

Enchanted treeNot far from the castle I have a fairy sitting at the base of a rather ugly enchanted tree. The tree reminds me of the talking apple trees from the Wizard of Oz, and this is probably why I decided to add him to my collection.

SkullBy far the oddest ornament has to be the skull. The neighbour across the road gifted it to me when they moved away. I’m still not sure I like it, but it sort of appeals to the macabre side of me having it half buried under the daisy bush. It catches the local kids by surprise and when they ask me about it, I make an off-hand comment about how it belongs to the last child who annoyed me one too many times.

I do have some feline garden ornaments keeping my plants company but I said I wouldn’t rave on about cats and I aim to keep that promise! That doesn’t mean to say next time I visit a nursery I won’t buy another to add to the eclectic collection of ornaments I already have… 🙂

So, do you have any ornamental pieces hiding in your garden? Do you collect one sort or possess a variety of them? I’d love to know!

Allegiance Sworn hi resKylie Griffin’s obsession with all things paranormal/fantasy started at an early age, when she used to imagine the jacaranda tree in her front yard was a spaceship used to defend the world from invading enemies. Writing stories seemed a natural extension to her childhood adventures.  Today, she’s a primary school teacher sharing her love for the written word with young children. In her spare time, she writes and reads all things paranormal. Kylie lives in a small rural village in outback New South Wales, Australia, where she volunteers in a number of emergency service organizations in her local community. Visit her website, her blog, FacebookTwitter and GoodReads.

8 comments on “Fan Girl Friday – Cats, Dragons and Gargoyles…Oh My! by Kylie Griffin

  1. Kylie, what a terrific collection. I also have a gargoyle by my front door. He’s called George as in Gorgeous George and he’s so ugly I think he’s gorgeous. There’s also a dragon in the ferns and a massive pale mushroom with a frog on it near the pool. Oh, and of course – the bust of a girl reading a book nestled in some orchids on the way to the house. Friends who visited us after we’d moved here weren’t sure they had the right house till they spied her.

    Thanks for sharing the pics!

  2. Annie, sounds like we share a love for the weird and wonderful! 🙂

    I love gargoyles, they’re rather handsome in their ugliness, if that makes sense!

    Living in a small village my love of the unusual makes it easy for locals to describe to people visiting where I live. Oh, yeah, Kylie, just look for the gargoyles and dragons in the garden down that street…you can’t miss ’em!

  3. Kylie

    I so love all of your gargoyles they really are cute, I don’t have anything like that in my garden just some hardly plants that have lasted LOL.

    BTW I just finished Allegiance Sworn swoon I loved it thak you

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Hi Helen, ahh, lovely to hear you had fun with Arek & Imhara! 🙂

    Most of the plants in my garden survive on little water and neglect. If they don’t they shouldn’t be there! I do like natives as they attract the wildlife – all sorts!

  5. All I need now is Kylie’s snail mail address and I can slip over there like a ghost in the night and retrieve a couple of these amazing garden statues… Ahem, luckily, Kylie’s smart enough not to share her street address with me (Count Dracula Laugh!)

  6. Hmm, making note in diary…DO NOT give Cheryse my snail address for any reason and let cops know she’s a prime suspect if any of my statues EVA go missing.

  7. Hi Kylie and thanks for sharing your fan girl moment! I gotta admit, gargoyles, skulls et al scared the bejesus out of me from an early age, so I’m not exactly fond of them 😦 Our garden does have a stone bird feeder and a stone cat that sits beneath it. Oh, and a cool cross-legged American Indian, which I got as a 21st present. Aaaaand I couldn’t forget the totally ugly, kitchy wire-and-plaster patchwork-looking cat with the UGLIEST hat I have ever seen. That was a present to my mum from a friend – it’s supposed to be a door stopper but the thing is so fugly it’s been banished to the garden. We’re all taking bets on how long it’ll take for all its bits to drop off 😀

  8. Hey, Paula, thanks for having me visit!

    Oh, don’t we all get at least one present from a rello/friend that’s just has the ick-factor? The skull is mine! LOL 😀

Leave a Reply

