Fan Girl Friday – Tattoos with Kylie Scott

kylie scottHi, my name is Kylie and I’d like to tell you a story to introduce my Fan Girl Friday topic of tattoos. It’s Christmas Day in Australia about twenty years back. I was 18 and doing the traditional post lunch thing of lolling about letting the way-too-much food I’d eaten slowly digest. The fan spins lazily overhead, barely stirring the hot air, as I silently vow to never go back for thirds of Aunty Mary’s trifle ever again until next year (best trifle in the world). You know how it is…
Nan: What is that on your back?
Me: Nothing.
Nan: I saw something on our back, under your shirt.
Me: Nana, you need new glasses. Hey, isn’t it your nap time?
Nan: Did you get a tattoo?
Entire room packed full of relatives falls dead silent and commences staring at me.
Me: *flails*
Mum: I knew she was hiding something!
Dad: You better not have.
Me: *still flailing*
Mum: How will you ever wear a strapless ball gown now!?
Me: *stops flailing* *perplexed face* Wait. When did I ever wear one before?
Mum: No boy from a decent family will have you! Not once he knows about that!
Me: No, seriously … what??
Dad: *explodes*

Kylie tattooAh, yes, a great memory. I come from a pretty conservative background (go figure) and my parents honestly could not comprehend why I would do such a thing. But then tattoos tend to be something that either appeal to people or leave them shaking their heads with something less than wonder. I’ve always been fascinated by ink. Not just the art of the design, but the story behind it. So I put out a call on Facebook and Twitter for girls to pull out their trusty mobile phones and snap some pictures for me. The response was huge. Here are just a few of the people that volunteered to share their tats and tales. (Apologies to those I couldn’t fit in.)
We’ll start with me and my latest. Books have always been one of the great loves of my life, so for me, this one was a no-brainer. (And no, I’ve still never worn a strapless ball gown and my husband’s family seen quite nice. Though you never can tell…)

kylie tattoo2Kate Cuthbert, Harlequin Escape – This tattoo is of a questing beast. In Arthurian legend, Arthur’s best friend is a king called Pellinore. King Pellinore comes from a long line of Pellinore who have all had the same goal in life – to hunt the questing beast. The beast has the body of a leopard, the feet of a goat, and the head of a dragon. When it bays it sounds like 100 hounds all crying at once. However, the beast is invisible. So no one believes it exists, and the Pellinores are generally considered genial crackpots. So anyways, Arthur, being a logical fellow, takes it upon himself to talk Pellinore out of hunting the beast. He manages, and Pellinore abandons his quest. And that’s when the questing beast begins to waste away, eventually nearly dying. Without someone to hunt him, without someone to believe in him, he cannot live. I got my questing beast after a rough patch in my life as a reminder to have the strength and conviction to follow my own path, and to remember that my dreams and goals are only as real as I believe them to be.
kylie tattoo3Katrina Whittaker,  Page Flipperz  – It has my three girls on it. From oldest to youngest. As you can see they are wrapped around my heart always. The ribbon going from the beginning till the end. Forever!

Kylie tattoo4

Book Chatter Cath  – The Celtic band is on my left forearm and I got it done in England on a family visit back in 2005. I love Celtic myths, and really love the knot designs that they use in their art, and I have some Celtic blood (albeit watered down) running through my veins. And that tat is green, green is my favourite colour.

kylie tattoo5Jennie Brumley, writer – My dragon is taken from Aussie author Graeme Base’s book The Discovery of Dragons. I knew when I was 12 that I wanted a tattoo, I knew by the time I was 15 that I wanted a dragon, but it took me until I was 24 to find one I knew I could live with for the rest of my life. I have always been fascinated by dragons, perhaps because I was born in the Year of the Dragon, perhaps because I watched too many medieval fantasy shows when I was little, either way, dragons rock and funds (and hubby) allowing I want to add a Norse dragon to the mix at some point down the track.

kylie tattoo6Rhyll Biest, writer – I had a favourite live music club in Brisvegas called the Crash and Burn and their emblem was a sun. So my tat was in homage… I was in my 20s, but I don’t regret it at all. Having a tat makes me feel all kick-assy tough, even though I’ve only ever kicked ass in my imagination.

kylie tattoo7Shona Husk, writer – Here’s my seahorse. It’s about 12 years old. I’d had a partial molar pregnancy (which was fairly traumatic), my husband was in the navy at the time and sailed a week after I had surgery and I decided that if I was going to get a tattoo now was the time. Kind of a ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’ moment. He was surprised when he got home…

colonistswife

Kylie is a long time fan of erotic love stories and B-grade horror films. She demands a happy ending and if blood and carnage occur along the way then all the better.  Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and one delightful husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet.  Her latest book release is Colonist’s Wife, and you can find her via her website, Twitter and Facebook.

21 comments on “Fan Girl Friday – Tattoos with Kylie Scott

  1. Love it!! I was 18 when I got my first one. now I’m 26 n have 6 (but planning more) I’m obsessed with them. I love that its a way to express yourself. and when done right, they can be a beautiful pieces of art. 🙂

    My parents didn’t care about tattoos. yet they are very against piercings that never made sense to me. lol.

  2. LOL Kylie. Your pic peers out at me from the computer screen, so demure and genteel. So “tat? me? never!” Cracks me up 🙂

    Dont have a tat – surprise surprise! Not for me. I dont hate them – just not particularly into pain. Love your books Kylie and I quite like those single bands around a nice neaty male bicep. I’m not a huge fan of inking up every single piece of available skin. I think with tats less is more.

    I saw a trainee cop show on tele last year and one of the recruits, a chick, had tattoos all up and down her arm that her shirt couldn’t hide and I’m sorry but I just dont want my cops looking like bikers…..

    My daughter keeps saying “when I get a tattoo” and I hold my breath that wherever it is and whatever it is its something she can cover up when she needs to and isn’t some boys name (especially the current boy….)

  3. Love men with tats a little muscle even better. As for women with tats of course its everyone’s personal opinion. 😉 I personally love mine and there are many I do like. Many I dont. ! Its certainly a personal preferance thats for sure.

    My daughter tells me with my latest tat I look bad arse – Of course that wasnt the intended – but non the less we had a giggle.

    I have to say a man in stories whoose bad arse, tats and what not else always sucks me in !

    😉 kat

  4. great stories to go with these beautiful skin art, I have 3 one is Lock, Shock and Barrel from The Nightmare Before Christmas they represent my 3 kids, one is a pansy for my grandmother when she passed away she loved pansies (she would hate the tat but oh well) and the last is a Celtic shamrock that I got at the same time (and the same tat) as my mom, my sister and my daughter and it represents our Irish heritage

  5. Hey guys – wow, lots of opinions about tattoos here 🙂 I have to admit I do not like the tatt look on girls… but on a guy? On a nicely shaped bicep? *faints* Oh, yeah. I had a couple of friends have matching dolphin tatts on their hips when they got engaged and they’re still together. Then I had another friend have a wedding band tattooed – only to break up months later. I think if you’re getting one it needs to be for *you*, not for anyone else. Because that sucker is permanent!

    However, having said that, I am actually thinking of getting a small, discreet one in a viewable place. I definitely don’t want to be like the woman in the Tefal ad with the barbed wire around her arm LOL! Maybe I’ll surprise you all at conference? 😉

  6. Yay Kylie, top post (and not one mention of lube ). I have a tat too (it’s on my bicep too – settle Paula ;o) ) – and pretty much had the exact same conversation with my folks….although probably with less talk of ball gowns. I love tats on women – in fact, the lead in my current WIP has a sleeve tat.

  7. Great post as usual, Kylie! Your family sound exactly like mine. I laughed so hard at the strapless ball gown comment. That’s something my mother would say!! I’m designing my (first?) tattoo now. It’s not going to be enormous but won’t be an apologetic excuse for a tattoo either. I figure if you you’re going to get tattooed, do it properly. 🙂

  8. I shocked the jeheebahs out of my family & friends getting my dragon tatt on my forearm. No one a) thought I’d ever get one being the geeky, book-loving/primary school teacher that I am, or b) a tattoo that covered my whole forearm – they all said they thought it would be small, maybe a couple of inches. I have to admit I never really mentioned I was interested in getting one, but I had the dream to get one for nearly 20yrs (mine was for personal milestone).

    I do like a nice tattoo with a great story behind it. I cringe though when I hear people getting “boy/girlfriends” names done on themselves though – how many have broken up and gone on to regret the permanent name marking? Kids names are a different story though.

    Great post, Kylie! Lvoing the diverse topics you’re coming up with. 😀

  9. Kylie, my tattoo reveal was much like yours, thankfully it was only my Mum though and not my whole family. Once she figured out the mark on my back was NOT a huge blue bruise, she didn’t speak to me for ten whole minutes… and then gave me a thirty minute lecture on why I was an idiot. Can’t wait to show her my new ones =D

    And totally agree with you, Paula. Sexy man + nicely shaped biceps = great canvas for a tattoo. 😉

  10. Alpha Kylie, hey there. I love your dragon tatoo, he is beautiful. Yes, girl/boyfriends names are not a good choice. Ever. But they do make for funny stories.

Leave a Reply

